#298 – Price: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 4 by Florence Beatrice Price and Fort Smith Symphony

For the last night of Black History Month I wanted to choose a work by a pioneer in their field.  Florence Beatrice Price is recognized as the first Black woman to be considered a symphonic composer, and the first to have a composition performed by a major orchestra.  The Chicago Symphony Orchestra premiered her Symphony in E Minor on June 15, 1933. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: